All hail the God of Southern Rock, the legend that is Billy F Gibbons.  I don’t think I can actually overstate this, Gibbons’ new album is flawless, it has all the requisite southern, bluesy content you would expect but with such flavour you won’t be able to resist another bite!

The opening track, ‘Missin’ Yo’ Kissin’, to the new album, The Big Bad Blues, hits straight in with a steady, strong drum beat and a heaping helping of gritty guitarwork with all the generous layering of Billy’s recognisable gorgeous, gravelly vocals.  From there, its just track after track (11 in total) of what it is that Billy does best-play the blues with plenty of attitude and technical perfection.

Billy is most recognisable as one of the three members of ZZ Top, a band which began in 1969 and has endured and been adored ever since.   And, also notably because the band still consists of the three original members, which is a record for any rock band.

You could say that rock ‘n’ roll is a lifestyle, something to live and breathe, and Billy is just that kind of artist.  He plays what he is, a blues rock artist.  This new album is a total reflection of that in its entirety.  Every song is so well-crafted and full of subtle nuances all gathering together to create an overall collective of just raw, hard rock and blues.  There is not one song to fault, every note infectious, an earthy collection blues songs sounded out with delicious guitar licks.   If the blues is where you reside, this will feel like home.


Tour dates to be announced here soon!


Follow Billy on Twitter here!!


Track-list off new Album, The Big Bad Blues (all songs by Billy F Gibbons except where noted):

1) Missin’ Yo’ Kissin’ (Gilly Stillwater)

2) My Baby She Rocks

3) Second Line

4) Standing Around Crying (Muddy Waters)

5) Let the Left Hand Know…

6) Bring It to Jerome (Jerome Green)

7) That’s What She Said

8) Mo’ Slower Blues

9) Hollywood 151

10) Rollin’ and Tumblin’ (Muddy Waters)

11) Crackin’ Up (Bo Diddley)


Billy F Gibbons: Guitar, Harp & Vox

James Harman: Additional Harmonica

Joe Hardy: Fender Bass Guitar

Greg Morrow & Matt Sorum: Drums

Mike Flanigin: Keyboards


Dana Miller