The Cure have announced details of their only European show of 2018 – a special 40th anniversary celebration gig at London’s Hyde Park, as part of British Summer Time festival on July 7.

They want to celebrate the 40th anniversary of the release of their first single in a magnificent way and their official website promises “a 120 minute headline show.” Many artists will join them onstage, including Interpol, Goldfrapp, Editors, Ride, Slowdive, the Twilight Sad and “more to be announced.”

The Twilight Sad were especially handpicked by The Cure to tour with the band on their entire 2016 world tour.

This is the band’s first UK gig since their residency at London’s SSE Arena Wembley last winter.

They were founded in 1976 by lead singer Robert Smith and, in 1978, they played their first show and released their first single under the name The Cure (they previously went by East Cure).

The group has shaped post-punk in the UK and has sold more than 30 million albums and singles over its 40-year history.

Today’s line-up includes Robert Smith (voice and guitars), Simon Gallup (bass), Jason Cooper (drums), Roger O’Donnell (Keyboards) and Reeves Gabrels (guitars).

The band is famous for huge hits such as ‘Boys Don’t Cry’, ‘The Lovecats’, ‘Inbetween Days’ ‘Close To Me’, ‘Just Like Heaven’, ‘Lullaby’,‘Lovesong’ and ‘Friday I’m In Love’.

A number of other performers for the 2018 BST Hyde Park festival have already been announced, including headliners Eric Clapton, Michael Buble, Bruno Mars and Roger Waters.

You can buy your ticket via the BST Hyde Park website:

Written By:  Valentina Guidi

George Millington